Tag Archives: Matisse Ruby


From the opening notes we dive straight in to this performance by the ACO and are treated to a superb concert full of magnificent playing that is highly accomplished, unobtrusively flamboyant and totally captivating. 

The quintet is divided into four parts:

  1.  Allegro ma non troppo
  2. Adagio
  3. Scherzo. Presto – Trio. Andante sostenuto  and
  4.  4 Allegretto

This quintet was written in the last months of SCHUBERT’s life in 1828 but unpublished and unperformed until the 1850’s. The ACO gives a many layered, heartfelt performance of shimmering crystalline precision with great attention paid to the structure of the work . The ACO quintet consists of its five core members  – Richard Tognetti on violin, Helena Rathbone also on violin, Stefanie Farrands on viola, Timo-Veikko Valve on cello and Melissa Barnard also on cello.

The Studiocast,  directed by Matisse Ruby,  was filmed at the new cutting-edge Phoenix Central Park venue in Chippendale. At first the auditorium is bathed in pleasant lighting but then for the second movement is coldly, starkly lit, highlighting the concrete walls and pipes. We then eventually return to the sensitively lit main concert hall. Lighting for the third movement was swaying beams of warm light. For the final movement Ruby and Tyson Perkins used a wash of coruscating orange lights.  Continue reading ACO STUDIOCAST : SCHUBERT’S QUINTET


This was a very striking and unusual concert for the wonderful Australian Chamber Orchestra led by the brilliant Richard Tognetti.

This is the latest in the marvellous series of studiocasts with photography by director Matisse Ruby and her team of Tyson Perkins and Drew English.

Photographed in black and white, the concert began dramatically with Tognetti, his back to us, striding to the podium.

JS BACH – (arr. Tognetti) The Musical Offering, BWV1079) opened the program – the strings were sharp and angry at first but then they changed to slower and shimmering, rich and meandering, delicate with a bright flute (Emmanuel Pahud) darting and leaping.

JS BACH’S – St Matthew Passion, BWV244: Erbarme dich was very energetic, with scurrying flurries from the strings. Tognetti on violin was magnificent, tumbling fast and furious and his duet with cellist Timo-Veikko Valve was very touching. Continue reading BACH AND BEYOND : AUSTRALIAN CHAMBER ORCHESTRA STUDIOCAST