Tag Archives: Fabian Russell



Part of the Vivid Music program. the Willoughby Symphony Orchestra was in fine form for this exciting ,challenging concert that included two world premieres.

Guest conductorFabian Russell led the Orchestra elegantly yet energetically with precise control.

The concert began with Maurice Ravel’s Le tombeau le Couperin , a work dedicated to friends and acquaintances the composer lost in in the first World War While. Inspired by Couperin, the work is distinctly 20th Century.

The first movement with its shimmering harp and strings rippled and flowed .The second movement opened strongly and featured the woodwind. The melody was passed around the various sections of the Orchestra and then a second bouncy, bounding melody was taken and developed. The third movement was mostly a dialogue between the string sections that builds to a sweeping crescendo then calms and becomes lyrical, almost birdlike but with rumbling undertones beneath. The fourth movement was off to a crashing furious opening, the Orchestra a whirlwind that led to the violent scurrying conclusion. Continue reading WILLOUGHBY SYMPHONY ORCHESTRA : PASTORAL @ THE CONCOURSE


NSW Youth Orchestra members turn up early and excited for their first rehearsal with Fabian Russell

New South Wales Youth Orchestra  is pleased to present Stravinsky’s PETRUSHKA  (1911), led by their Principal Guest Conductor, Fabian Russell.

The orchestra will also be joined Australian International Soloist, Michael Kieran Harvey to perform  SHOSTAKOVICH PIANO CONCERTO NO 2.

The program:
Glinka | Ruslan and Ludmilla Overture
Shostakovich | Piano Concerto No. 2
Stravinsky | Petrushka (1911 Version)

Saturday 2 December 2017 at 7:30pm at Verbrugghen Hall Sydney Conservatorium of Music, Conservatorium Rd, Sydney, NSW 200

For more about NSW Youth Orchestra Russian Masterpieces, visit http://nswyo.com.au/concerts/upcoming-concerts/
Or Facebook where NSWYO,  over the coming weeks,  will be posting some interesting facts about the great composers whose music will be performed at the  upcoming concert!

Musician Project Presents: Ein Heldenleben @ Verbruggen Hall

Musician Project Orchestra under the direction of Fabian Russell

The Musician Project Orchestra is back in June to present some of the most electrifying music for large orchestra. Returning to the podium to lead the ensemble for his second time is the masterly Fabian Russell, who directed the transcendent Musician Project performance of Mahler’s Ninth Symphony last year.

The orchestra are also excited to welcome home the young Australian cellist Jack Bailey, who returns from studies in the United Kingdom to feature in Sergei Prokofiev’s Sinfonia Concertante, one of the most impassioned and rarely-performed works in the cello repertoire.

The concert concludes with the most extravagant of Richard Strauss’ tone poems, Ein Heldenleben. An orchestral tour-de-force of heroism, love, conflict and triumph, ultimately fading into peaceful fulfilment.


STRAUSS Feierlicher Einzug, TrV 224
PROKOFIEV Sinfonia Concertante, Op. 125
STRAUSS Ein Heldenleben, Op. 40


Sunday June 19, 5:00pm


Verbruggen Hall, Sydney Conservatorium Of Music.

TICKETS- Pay What You Think!

For more about Musician Project Presents: Ein Heldenleben, visit http://www.trybooking.com/LBRY
Find us on: YouTube | Facebook