Belvoir is now accepting entries for the 2018 Balnaves Foundation Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Fellowship, an evolution of The Balnaves Foundation Indigenous Playwright Award and an outstanding launching pad for new talent with a $25,000 paid residency at Belvoir.

In 2018 the Award is taking an exciting new shape and will now become a Fellowship, which will see the winner be given the opportunity to work at Belvoir in 2019 as a resident artist and receive $25,000 over a year-long period to create their new work. The Award will broaden to encompass directors, playwrights and writer/directors who can drive the creation of a new, Indigenous-led stage work, whether that be a new play, an adaptation or through a devised process.

The Balnaves Foundation Indigenous Playwright Award has long been recognised as one of the most prestigious playwriting awards in Australia, attracting entrants of the highest calibre.

Previous winners, including Leah Purcell, Jada Alberts, Megan Wilding, Nakkiah Lui and Ursula Yovich, have submitted exceptional works that consistently celebrate the depth of talent amongst our nation’s Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander theatre-makers.

Entries close 6pm Monday 6th August and the winner will be announced as part of Belvoir’s 2019 Season Launch.

Featured image- Previous Balnaves Foundation Fellowship winner, Ursula Yovich.