Chatswood Musical Society’s much anticipated season of HOT MIKADO has commenced.

The show opened last Friday night and features the updated version of the classic Gilbert and Sullivan tale The Mikado as pieced together by Rob Bowman (music) and David H. Bell (lyrics).

Gilbert and Sullivan’s storyline is just a bit of silly nonsense, with the main characters facing life and death situations as if they were on their way to afternoon tea parties. It’s the music, the dancing and the costumes that make this show. The music ranges from jazz to blues to gospel to torch songs, and there’s some tap dancing in the big Company numbers.

I can’t think of a better way to describe the HOT MIKADO experience than to  quote  from Director Declan Moore’s program note.

“What I love about this show is the fact  that it is a quirky, message free two hours of high jinx and energy- entertainment just for entertainments sake…This is a slapstick world of absurd plot twists, gender-swap casting and old-school knock-about.”

Recommended, the shows’ remaining performances at the Independent Theatre, 269 Miller Street, North Sydney, take place this week : Wednesday 27th September – 8pm, Friday 29th September – 8pm, Saturday 30th September – 2pm and 8pm, and Sunday 1st October at  2pm.

For bookings –


Director/Choreographer – Declan Moore

Musical Director – Andrew Bartle

Co-Choreographer – Stephanie Edmonds

Stage Manager – Will Hall

Production Manager – Donna Fitzgerald

David Verdejo – Ko-Ko

Rachael Gillfeather – Katisha

Tish Keleman – The Mikado

Blake Lovely – Nanki-Poo

Nina Marsh – Yum-Yum

Alisia Jedrzejczak – Petti-Sing

Rachel Hertz – Peep-Bo

Karen Oliver – Pooh-Bah

Eamon Moses – Pish-Tush

David Thompson – Onstage Vocal Group

Sarah Morrisby – Onstage Vocal Group

Damien Schmitt – Onstage Vocal Group

Melissa Trickey – Onstage Vocal Group

Skye Hodges – Featured Dance Ensemble + Dance Captain

Matilda Hamilton – Featured Dance Ensemble

Zoe Stewart – Featured Dance Ensemble

Rebecca Savage – Featured Dance Ensemble

Arnold Andrews – Featured Dance Ensemble

Ty Arnott – Children’s Ensemble

Kristian Babian – Children’s Ensemble

Mariah Gonzalez – Children’s Ensemble

Abby van Balkom – Children’s Ensemble