Screen Producers Australia Awards

Screen Forever- inset
Inset Pic- Nicole Minchin and Amanda Brotchie from High Wire Films for the film, The Agony of Modern Manners- winner Light Entertainment Television Award. Featured Pic- One to watch- Kirsty O’Brien

There was a great turnout for the 14th Screen Producers Australia Awards which was held last Tuesday in the Palladium Room at Crown Casino as part of the 29th Screen Forever Conference. The four day conference featured seminars, workshops and gala parties attended by hundreds of film and television professionals from across Australia.

The event was hosted by comedian and writer Adam Zwar who was one of the award recipients when The Agony of Modern Manners, which he produces, was named best light entertainment production.

There were five new awards introduced at this year’s ceremony: Best Telemovie or Mini Series Production, Best Comedy Television Production, Best Reality Television Production, Best Feature Length Documentary Production and the Lifetime Achievement Award. In total there were seven categories for television programs but only two for feature films. There was also a single category for interactive productions.

The inaugural Lifetime Achievement Award went to Des Monaghan, one of Australia’s leading executive producers. In a career spanning over half a century, Monaghan has transformed the screen culture of Australia and New Zealand, and established him as one of Australian TV’s most influential figures. In May this year, May Monaghan stepped down as Executive Chairman of the Screentime group, following eighteen years with the company.

The Moodys took home best comedy; Nowhere Boys took the children’s production gong, and Who Do You Think You Are? was voted best television documentary.

Carbon Media, which produced the first Australian indigenous segment ever aired on Sesame Street and is now co-producing Camp Crazy, a children’s series with Essential Media & Entertainment, was named breakthrough business of the year. The Railway Man won Feature Film category prize. Producer Chris Brown who accepted the award dedicated it to all the diggers who returned from wars and went on to suffer from post-traumatic stress disorder.

The full list of Award recipients and nominees of the 2014 Screen Producers Australia Awards are as follows (Winners are in bold). :

Telemovie or Mini Series Production:

 ANZAC Girls, Screentime

Better Man, FremantleMedia Australia

INXS: Never Tear Us Apart, Shine Australia

Power Games: The Packer-Murdoch Story, Endemol Australia

The Gods of Wheat Street, Every Cloud Productions

Drama Television Production:

 Love Child, Playmaker Media

Offspring, Endemol Australia

Rake, Essential Media and Entertainment

The Time of Our Lives, JAHM Productions

Wentworth, FremantleMedia Australia

Children’s Television Production:

 Bushwhacked!, Mint Pictures

Buzz Bumble, Blue Rocket Productions

Hoopla Doopla!, Beyond Screen Productions

Nowhere Boys, Matchbox Pictures

The Flamin’ Thongs, Media World Pictures

Comedy Television Production:

 It’s a Date, Princess Pictures

Ja’mie: Private School Girl, Princess Pictures

Shaun Micallef’s Mad as Hell, ITV Studios

The Moodys, Jungleboys

This Is Littleton, High Wire Films

Light Entertainment Television Production:

 RocKwiz, Renegade Films

Stand Up @ Bella Union, Princess Pictures

The Agony of Modern Manners, High Wire Films

The Marngrook Footy Show, Toombak Indigenous Production

Reality Television Production:

 Big Brother, Endemol Australia

MasterChef, Shine Australia

The Real Housewives of Melbourne, Matchbox Pictures

The Voice, Shine Australia

The X Factor, FreemantleMedia Australia

 Documentary Television Production:

 Kids on Speed?, Essential Media and Entertainment Redesign My Brain, Mindful Media

Taking on the Chocolate Frog, Screentime

The War That Changed Us, Electric Pictures

Who Do You Think You Are?, Artemis International

FEATURE FILM Feature Length Documentary Production:

 I Am A Girl, Media Stockade

Lasseter’s Bones, Scribble Films

Rise of the Eco-Warriors, Virgo Productions

The Real Mary Poppins, Essential Media and Entertainment

The Waler: Australia’s Great War Horse, Mago Films

Feature Film Production:

 Felony, Goalpost Pictures

The Railway Man, Pictures in Paradise

The Rover, Porchlight Films

Tracks, See-Saw Films

Wolf Creek 2, Emu Creek Pictures

INTERACTIVE Interactive Production:

 #7DaysLater, Ludo Studios

ACO VIRTUAL, Mod Productions

After 6/4, Freehand Productions

Nowhere Boys: The 5th Boy, Matchbox Pictures

Secrets & Lies, Hoodlum

Breakthrough Business of the Year:

 Carbon Media

 Services and Facilities Business of the Year:

 Fox Studios Australia for work on Playmaker Media’s Love Child